| President | Committee | Akrill Award | Membership |

Stuart Cameron

Stuart recently retired as Chief Engineer with Doosan Babcock in the UK after 40 years service and continues as a consultant on strategic issues and advisor to the Engineering Centre of Excellence.

He is an ASME Fellow and served on various ASME committees, including the Section I Power Boiler Committee, the Council for Certification and Standards, the Board on Conformity Assessment and is Vice Chair of ASME Board for Strategic Initiatives for Certification and Standards. He was the Project Manager for the modernization of the ASME Power Boiler Code to meet the requirements of plant operating at high temperatures under cyclic loading. He recently received the ASME Dedicated Service Award for his work on the global application of ASME Standards. He was nominated to the ASME Board of Governors in 2016 and is a member of the President's Task Force on Strategy and Planning

He was the UK expert on ISO TC11 - International standards for boilers and Pressure Vessels.

He is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering in the UK. He is a Fellow of the Institution of Mechanical Engineering in the UK where he was Vice President, chairing the International Strategy Board and also past Chair of the Scottish Region Committee.

He was awarded an MBE in 2010 by the Queen for voluntary services to mechanical engineering.

He is very proud of the heritage of Scottish engineers and their impact on engineering throughout the world. He promotes this as a member of the Selection Committee for the Scottish Engineering Hall of Fame.

He is also a Visiting Professor at University of Strathclyde in Glasgow, Scotland where he established the MSc programme for Power Plant Systems which all Doosan Babcock graduates attend. He is past chair of the Industry Advisory Board for the Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering department at Strathclyde.

Stuart Cameron (left) accepts balls of office from last President Jeff Downey

Past Presidents

  • 1965 Mr WP Sutherland
  • 1966 Mr WP Sutherland
  • 1967 Mr M Noone OBE
  • 1968 Mr R Vessey
  • 1969 Mr ES Sellers OBE
  • 1970 Mr GA Dummett FREng
  • 1971 Dr HWD Hughes OBE
  • 1972 Mr JN Mompson MBE
  • 1973 Prof DB Spalding FREng, FRS
  • 1974 Mr HB Merriman
  • 1975 Mr AJ McKerracher
  • 1976 Mr AR Jenkins CBE, JP
  • 1977 Prof GF Hewitt FREng, FRS
  • 1978 Mr RA Smith
  • 1979 Mr AM Morrison
  • 1980 Mr J.Barfoot
  • 1981 Mr JA Henley
  • 1982 Mr RA Ragon
  • 1983 Dr J Taborek
  • 1984 Mr JG Collier FREng, FRS
  • 1985 Mr H Eenkhoorn
  • 1986 Mr DF Clarke
  • 1987 Mr AD Neville
  • 1988 Mr D Butterworth FREng
  • 1989 Mr MJ Baker
  • 1990 Mr I Wigham
  • 1991 Prof. H Simpson
  • 1992 Mr A Reid
  • 1993 Mr P Johnson
  • 1994 Prof PJ Heggs FREng
  • 1995 Mr M Morris
  • 1996 Mr K Mangnall
  • 1997 Dr TR Bott MBE.
  • 1998 Mr D. Bate
  • 1999 Mr T Mowbray
  • 2000 Prof. G F Hewitt FRS, FREng
  • 2001 Dr GT Polley
  • 2002 Mr MJC Moore
  • 2003 Mr R Marsland
  • 2004 Prof DA Reay
  • 2005 Dr AW Deakin
  • 2006 Mr AR Guy
  • 2007 Prof J Rose
  • 2008 Mr G Bowes
  • 2009 Ms C Beyer
  • 2010 Mr D King
  • 2011 Mr E Watters
  • 2012 Mr R Spear
  • 2013 Prof. B Crittenden FREng
  • 2014 Prof. G L Quarini
  • 2015 Mr G Hart
  • 2016 Mr Jeff Downey


| President | Committee | Akrill Award | Membership |